John Lewis Shares an Inspiring Message at HRC’s #NationalDinner


When you see something that is not right, not fair, not just,
you have to stand up, speak up, and speak out, and find a way to
get in the way, and to get in trouble.
Good trouble, necessary trouble.
You and I are partners.
We are part of an on-going struggle to redeem the soul of America.
I got arrested and went to jail 40 times during the sixties.
Beaten, left bloodied, unconscious.
But I got up, and I never gave up.
You must not give up.
We are working to build what Dr. King called the Beloved Community so we can leave a legacy
of love, unity and peace.
Marriage equality was a critical step, but the struggle is not over.
There are forces in America today who want to take us back.
But we’ve come too far and we made too much progress to help people in this country and
around the world come to grips with one simple truth: that we are one people, we are one
family, we are the human family.
I must tell you as one who gave a little blood on that bridge in Selma, the vote is precious,
and we must get out there and vote in this election,
and vote like we’ve never, ever, voted before.
And I want all of us to be committed and dedicated to the point, that we’re going to fight
But you may get weary.

You may fall down, but you must get up and continue to fight.

あなたが正しいものではなく、公正でないものを見ると、
起き上がって話し、話して、あなたのために道を見つけなければなりません
道に入り込み、困ってしまう。
良いトラブル、必要なトラブル。
あなたと私はパートナーです。
私たちは、アメリカの魂を償還するために進行中の闘争の一部です。
私は逮捕され、60年代に40回刑務所に行きました。
殴られ、左に血を流し、意識不明になった。
しかし、私は立ち上がって、私は決して諦めなかった。
あなたはあきらめてはいけません。
私たちは遺産を残すことができるようにキング博士が「愛するコミュニティ」と呼んだものを構築するよう努めています
愛、統一と平和の
結婚の平等は重要なステップでしたが、闘争は終わっていません。
今日アメリカには私たちを連れ戻したい人がいます。
しかし、私たちはあまりにも遠くに来て、私たちはこの国の人々を助けるためにあまりにも多くの進歩を遂げました。
世界中の人々は、ひとつの単純な真理、すなわち私たちが一人であること、私たちが一つであること
私たちは人間の家族です。
私はセルマでその橋の上に小さな血を与えた人としてあなたに言う必要があります、投票は貴重です、
私たちはそこに出てこの選挙で投票しなければなりません。
私たちは今までに投票したことがないように投票します。
そして私は、私たちのすべてがコミットされ、そのポイントに捧げられ、私たちが戦うつもりであることを望みます
しかし、あなたは疲れているかもしれません。
あなたは落ちるかもしれませんが、立ち上がって戦い続ける必要があります。

